Creed 101: Exercise Three

Posted: July 15, 2014 in IJRS Courses

Exercise #3
“There is no passion ; there is serenity”

In your journal, make a list of 3 to 5 most important people, projects or objects in your life. What is it that you feel passionate about? These would be anyone or anything that comes first to mind when making decisions.

 

 

1. Tasmara
— As a partner, lover, I am in love with her, I am passionate about her, and would do anything for her. To me she is something of a challenge as she is always throwing obstacles at me, things in which I must overcome. She works with me towards obtaining the other things that I am truly passionate about. We have spoken about getting a house together, starting a family together, and she has even been paying my school loan while I have been overseas. I would say that at times I have been blinded by her…but as I grew older I started to notice that the choices I made were my own to control and that she had little to no influence over what I did.

 

 

2. My goals (career, home, a family)
— I always have goals, I am always setting short-term goals and always have a list of long-term goals. The long-term goals are generally what I am most passionate about as they take the most work and in the end, they hold the greatest reward (in my opinion). When moving to Germany, I crossed one long-term goal off my list which was to travel to a new Country, and now I am trying to focus next on my career. I would not say that these goals blind me to anything as they take so many things in order to obtain that I am constantly open to new and different things. Nothing gets sacrifiec by my working towards these goals and being passionate about them. The only harm they ever did was perhaps arguing with Taz because I might have made her feel a bit pressured in the past about settling down. But, all of that was resolved rather quickly.

 

 

3. My Path
—My Path is something that am passionate about because it defines me, it has been trail after trial, molding me into the person I am today. From a Padawan to a Darth in the Dark Side, this path has taken me many places. Have I ever been blinded? No. Does it distract me from other things? It does at times, but I would not call it blinded. Obviously my Jedi studies often suffer because I am more passionate about the things I have been working on within the Dark aspect of things. My Path includes the birth of my own Temple which does take away from my time spent at the Institute, same as my relationship takes me away from IJRS as well because I would never want to sit behind a computer when my girlfriend is over. Still…to say that I am blinded by the things that are helping me learn and grow, I think that is the wrong way to put it. While my studies at IJRS go neglected, it’s not at all something that has affected me in any negative way. I do these things at my leisure because I want to. I am not chained down to my laptop and feel I should never be forced to work on something when I do not feel up to it, especially something that is not a hueg part of my being.

 

 

4. My Happiness
—Happiness blinds many people. They will do anything to feel happy…and sometimes this heads down a destructive path with things such as alcohol and drugs. I will say that I am blinded by wanting to be happy, and will often do stupid things because of it. Video-games make me happy, and I will often sacrifice needed sleep just to stay up and play. YouTube makes me happy, and again, I sacrifice sleep and time I could be spending elsewhere watching YouTube rather than being productive. I have skipped work just to travel, I have bailed on a diet because ice-cream makes me happy. Silly things like that. I will do anything to have my happiness…and it can be destructive. Happiness can also be confused for obsession at times, and this too can cause a problem and blind people as well. I have some examples from the past, but, they are over and done with for over 5 years, and its best not to dig those up again. For now though, my want to make myself happy at all times only has minor negative effects and nothing that could not be controlled if I actually put the effort into it.

 

 

5. Empowerment
—Empowerment…accomplishment, that feeling of doing something and being stronger because of it. This is something I am passionate about. But, I don’t see it as a bad thing. Wanting to go out and learn new things, pick up new skills, take on a challenge and overcome it. Nothing gets left behind because of this, nothing gets shadowed over and forgotten…this helps me grow, this opens me up to new possibilities. This may one day help lead me to career, gives me more time with Taz, could be something I could teach my children, and it makes me happy. It’s like a burrito filled with all other things that I am passionate about and it helps me to better develop and define ‘me’.

 

 

Passion…can be described in numerous ways, and this idea that passion is blinding and bad is outdated to me. This fear that passion will turn someone to the Dark Side almost seems silly, and, while I agree that there should be serenity (while someone should always be at peace with themselves and aware at all time), there is a way to have serenity but still be passionate about something. Especially when it comes to love.
You can love someone but not be blinded by that love. Taz thinks my involvement with The Force is stupid and a waste of time, but that does not keep me from following this path. She may not like all the people that I talk to, but I do not stop talking to them. I do not give up my hopes and dreams of the future for her, and she does not define me and never will.

 

 

“Love doesn’t lead to the dark side. Passion can lead to rage and fear, and can be controlled… but passion is not the same thing as love. Controlling your passions while being in love… that’s what they should teach you to beware. But love itself will save you… not condemn you.”
―Jolee Bindo, to Revan

 

 

This code continues to state that there should not be one option, there should only be the other option…but to me, there should be an equal balance. Life is not without its experiences, and again I will say that to completely eradicate that one thing is to completely deny someone what it is like to be human. You are cheapening the life experience by taking away what is meant to be there as a challenge and stepping stone. This is not doing anyone a favor, this will only make them weak.

 

 

“If you seek to aid everyone that suffers in the galaxy, you will only weaken yourself… and weaken them. It is the internal struggles, when fought and won on their own, that yield the strongest rewards. You stole that struggle from them, cheapened it. If you care for others, then dispense with pity and sacrifice and recognize the value in letting them fight their own battles. And when they triumph, they will be even stronger for the victory.”
―Kreia to Meetra Surik

Leave a Reply

