Intro Creed Exercise:

Posted: September 26, 2012 in IJRS Courses

Question(s):

 

“What are your top 3 beliefs?”

—While I cannot say that all of my beliefs are faith-based, I can say that there are some core beliefs that I stand by and have always stood by with unwavering conviction(s).

1.)    I believe that everyone has a purpose in life.

2.)    I believe that everything happens for a reason.

3.)    I believe that life should always be treated like a learning experience and/or an adventure!

 

“Why?”

—I would like to believe that everyone has a purpose in life because the thought of wandering through life aimlessly is a rather terrifying one. For some odd reason I can’t wrap my mind around a possible concept that humans were put on the Earth for no good reason (if that makes any sense). It’s like trying to talk about the possibility of there being nothingness in death…it’s just waaaaaaaaay to complicated, it’s depressing, and it makes my head hurt.

 

Same with everything happening for a reason. I believe that without reason, nothing makes sense. Obviously water boils because it is hot, THAT is the reason. Why did the chicken cross the road? To get to the other side THAT is the reason! It’s the same concept as above with everyone having a purpose…other than a few life experiences that prove to me that everything has a reason, something without reason is pointless, and I cannot wrap my mind around something that has no purpose and is pointless. It just fries my brain and makes me angry on the inside.

 

Lastly…I believe that life is too short to be filled with regrets as well as one should always be willing to accept the consequences of his/her actions. These two concepts come together as one to form my belief that life should be treated as a learning experience and an adventure!
While I will openly admit that there are many things in my life that I did WRONG and/or that I could have handled better had I been given the time or resources to really think things through, I do NOT regret a single thing that has ever happened to me. I believe that…through my errors I have become wiser. Through all the bad and harsh experiences in my life, I have become stronger. And through taking risks and trying new things, I have compiled a mass amount of experiences from which I can pull fond memories as well as lessons learned to make me a better adult.

 

“How did you come to those realizations?”

 

“What was a situation where this belief was exemplified?”

—I can only think of two times where my beliefs were exemplified through real-life circumstances. First of all: “Everything happens for a reason”.

Now, I’m not really one to talk about my childhood bluntly with others. Mainly because there is still some fear and some confusion that hides in my heart…but, I will admit that there was a shadow that loomed over me as I grew up. I had some really hard times, some that I was afraid I might never live to see another day afterwards. There is probably some trauma…I’m sure there are nightmares and habits that occurred because of my past that no amount of therapy can ever fix, but, one thing I did learn from that awful experience was that, everything happens for a reason.

Surviving that ordeal…those instances in my childhood made me a stronger and better person than I could have ever imagined. It made me realize what to do and what not to do in life. It taught me how I wanted to be treated and thus should treat other people the same way. I believe it gave me empathy, I believe that it made me more patient and understanding than I would have been otherwise, and, I believe that, overall, it made me grateful for the little things.

 

Secondly,”Life should be treated like a learning experience and/or adventure!”

I grew up in the same place I was born, and the farthest I ever lived from that very place was a mere 45 minutes. I grew up in a small town where I did not need to know the names of roads and buildings because it was just automatically engraved in me to know where I was and where I was going. So…when Taz said that she wanted to move back to her hometown (Indianapolis) within the capital, I freaked out!
I hated the city…all the noise and violence, and the fact that you had to take an exit just to get to another part of the same city was just crazy! We visited there every so often and even then my nerves would just spike because this place put me out of my element. But that’s when I realized that sometimes it was necessary to jump out of my comfort zone and try new things.

I mean, how else would I have learned my love for sushi had I not been brave enough to try it? How would I have figured out that I loved roller-coasters if I had not let a friend push me on the ride? How else would I have figured out that I was afraid of heights, loved scary movies, and enjoyed playing Airsoft had I not taken the necessary steps and risks? So…eventually I gave in and moved to Indianapolis.

It was a challenge. I had to learn the names of roads, learn what exits to take…I had to re-learn my way around, I was over an hour from my parents, so I had to get my own bank account, pay my own bills, keep track and budget my money better because Mommy and Daddy could no longer come and get me out of a quick bind if I ran into one. It took a lot of changes on my part in order to become comfortable here in the big city. But, I have currently lived here for over a year, and I have to say that I love it now! Living in Indy was a risk…but, it ended up being a HUGE learning experience for me, one that shaped me and made me a more responsible person in the end. It was learning experience that was brought about by my own desire to try something different, and it was an adventure!

Leave a Reply

