The Water Buffalo (symbols and meanings) // My Guide?

Posted: September 19, 2012 in Meditation

This is who and what I saw during “The Bubble” Meditation as my ‘image of Wisdom’.

As stated above…I drew this after I tried my second meditation. I was doing the meditation for the Mental Intuitive entitled,”The Bubble”, and was rather disappointed afterwards because I found myself too distracted to focus on the track, and could not clear my mind in order to catch up.

It was when I saw this image of a Water Buffalo Native that I thought my mind had perhaps gone bonkers. He appeared as my ‘Image of Wisdom’ and that’s what had me ultimately concerned. Water Buffalo’s, Buffalo’s, and Cows are generally associated with forms of Stupidity here in the United States. They are forms that are easily manipulated and therefore hold no real significance to anything.

Having grown up partially on a farm and raising cows…with this very belief, well, you could see why I was a bit discouraged that my ‘Image of Wisdom’ was related to symbols of stupidity and ignorance 😦
So…I decided to take Jax’s advice and research a little into the meanings and symbols of the Water Buffalo. Now, my guide had the head of a Water Buffalo with hollow eyes. His body was a light tan, lean, and slightly muscular, but he portrayed being a younger male—I could just feel that radiating from him. He was slightly decorated with beads, feathers, and even some sharp teeth of something from the kill…but it was his simplicity that I found the most trusting about him.
And from what I could see, he had no tail, he had no hooves…so maybe that is what threw me for a loop.

But because he was a Native America in body and obviously in spirit, I decided to research the Native American’s visualization of the Water Buffalo//Buffalo through their ancient Lore. That’s where I came across this blog: http://www.whats-your-sign.com/symbolic-buffalo-meaning.html
And I was able to pull these snippets about the Water Buffalo:

The American Bison was such a revered symbol, particularly with tribes of the Central North American plains.

Some keywords pertaining to symbolic Buffalo meaning include:

  • Provision
  • Gratitude
  • Abundance
  • Consistency
  • Strength
  • Stability
  • Blessing
  • Prosperity

The Buffalo was a true reminder of the greater whole. Someone explained that the Buffalo is like a hologram – one example of abundance – its behemoth features are a physical manifestation of the store-holds available in the energetic realms.

In Native American Indian legend the Buffalo is associated with smoke/tobacco/the pipe, which firms up its status as a sacred animal. As the legend goes, the White Buffalo Calf Woman appeared to the Lakota long ago. She imparted her wisdom of agriculture – but more importantly, WBCW proffered a specialized understanding of the ways of the Universe to her people.

White Buffalo Calf Woman illustrated, in magical ways, that all things are interconnected. She reminded the Lakota of the gravity of being human, and how our presence impacts and influences everything else. With this kind of power, comes great responsibility, and she gave the people the Sacred Pipe, that, upon smoking, revealed the truth of her words.

Almost in ‘all’ cultures…the White Buffalo is a Holy Symbol and Holy Creature. Mine was not white, and it was obviously male so it was not the Buffalo Calf Woman…but still, it was nice to have something other than ‘stupidity’ linked to this creature.
I also started to look for other symbols and feelings connected to the Water Buffalo across all other cultures, trying to see if anything matched. Sure enough…IT DID NOT.
Every culture had something different for the Water Buffalo…and at first I was discouraged, but then I remembered the first thing I had looked up on the Native American Lore. It had said that the Water Buffalo symbolized something that was merely a piece of the greater whole. THAT’S when it hit me!!!

Each culture has something different to say about the Water Buffalo (sure), but in the end, their version and symbols are just a piece of something much greater, much stronger, much smarter, much more than what they are seeing through a clouded lens.  The Water Buffalo is something that is fully in-tune with itself and is fully aware that it is a mere facet in the diamond which is the world and universe as a whole.

So yeah…that’s what I got from it. I’m feeling much better now.

Comments
  1. butchjax says:

    Excellent! See 😉 Remember that even in meditation, visuals are symbols, rarely literal. See what comes to mind beyond the obvious. Well done! (And awesome drawing!)

  2. Sara says:

    🙂 I woke up with the image and words” water buffalo” in my head last night. Hence coming across your post, doing my buffalo research too. So, hello fellow buffalo person! Thanks for your writing!

    • element02 says:

      Well hello to you too.
      I wish you luck in all your research. Hope my post helped a little…and it is nice to know I have a fellow buffalo person out there as well. I look forward to anything buffalo-related that you may have come across that I have missed.

      So, if you don’t mind me asking…what led you to finding the buffalo as your totem or spirit animal?

  3. Your drawing is amazing!

    Hello buffalo friend! I recently received messages from a spirit named Twisted Stream who looked just like that and spoke of the water buffalo and looking up its meaning. What you wrote about it being a physical manifestation of all that is available energetically really resonates. Thank you and much peace!

    • element02 says:

      I am very happy to hear that you liked my drawing as well as finding something that resonates with you. I have learned much about the Water Buffalo and the duality it represents since this post. Hopefully your Path continues to unfold as well and all becomes clear.
      Much peace to you as well.

Leave a Reply

